Skip to content

A status update, and a neat link

June 6, 2009

To those who might be following this blog, I wanted to let you know that despite appearance, I haven’t forgotten about my blog. I have a bunch of recommendations–as well as some other ideas for posts–sitting half-finished in the lovely WordPress editor.

Unfortunately, they, and this blog, will have to be back-burnered (what? that can totally be a verb…) for at least another week while I finish this one last major project at one of my two jobs.

So, if you’ve noticed that I’ve finally figured out how to offer RSS and have been breathlessly anticipating my next recommendation / post (and wouldn’t that be lovely if it were true? :D), I apologize for not posting more often. I have great hopes for this blog, but sadly, real life continues to intrude.

And, to whet your appetites, future non-recommendation post titles include:

  • “Blockbuster Online vs. Netflix: Which Online Rental Service Gets my Business and Why”
  • “Neat Movie-related Links”
  • “Wide-screen vs. Fullscreen: What Do You Chose?”
  • (If there’s something else you’d like to see my write a post about, comment or email me.)

    Oh, and as an added bonus (and parting shot), while I was writing this post, my husband alerted me to a cool movie site written-up in the most recent Wired:

    The site is called TheAuteurs.com, a “new, Sillicon Valley-based site that delivers video-on-demand for film buffs–from obscure international releases to up-and-coming flicks found only on the festival circuit–at $5 a pop.”

    Basically, if you subscribe to Blockbuster Online (which only recently started offering online streaming of movies), Netflix, or regularly use iTunes, amazon.com, or Hulu (okay, Hulu doesn’t really count, but it’s awesome) to get your streaming movie fix, Auteurs promises to do it smarter, faster, and better. The phrase “Sillicon Valley-based” should be all you really need to know.

    As a bonus to carefully tweaked compression rates, full 5.1 Dolby surround sound, and porting movies straight to your browser’s Flash plug-in (no third-party app required), the site also offers “access to the Criterion Collection’s legendary archive of director’s cuts and DVD extras.”

    This looks like an awesome site if you have the ability to watch movies from the internet on your TV (oh, how I wish), or if you’re a huge obscure movie buff. I’ll report back with the viewing quality on a regular lap-top or computer monitor is. In any case, I’m excited.

    Thank you Wired, Sonia Zjawinski (the author of the article), and my dear husband for bringing all of this to our attentions.

    —–

    PS – After some initial site exploration, it seems that they offer the film of the month for free. This month it’s a Turkish film from 1964 called Susuz Yaz (Dry Summer). I’ve not heard of it, but it looks interesting. Read the summary on theauteurs.com.

    I wonder if they have the original Shall We Dance?

    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

