Skip to content

Recommendation: Sweet Home Alabama

December 17, 2009

Every so often, you just have to watch a silly, sappy movie, and tonight, I was really in a mood for one. So, I flipped through my movie collection, and debated between French Kiss, 27 Dresses, and Sweet Home Alabama.

Yes, they’re all “girly” romantic comedies, but sometimes, that’s just what you’ve got to watch.

Title: Sweet Home Alabama

Summary: Melanie Carmichael (Reese Witherspoon), a budding New York City fashion designer with southern roots. Fun, funny, and beautiful, she seems to have it all together. She’s just released her first line of designer clothes, and is about to get married to the smart, handsome Mayor’s son (Patrick Dempsey).

But underneath that polished, fashionable exterior is a honky tonk young woman who’s forgotten where she came from. And who happens to still be married to her high school sweetheart. With her pending nuptials to Mr. New York City, she has to come to terms with her past, and her not-yet-ex-husband, Jake Perry (Josh Lucas).

Genre: chick flick, romantic comedy, sappy but aweswome

Audience: Women (and I imagine gay men, but I’m more comfortable speaking to the tastes of women). Unless you actively dislike chick flicks, or country music, you’ll enjoy this movie. Most men I know would not enjoy this movie.

Occasion: Any night when you need to unwind, watch an enjoyable, happy movie, and not think too much. Watch it by yourself or with a bunch of your best girlfriends, a bottle of wine, and a nice selection of chocolates.

Watch every minute? Nah. What are you going to miss? Well, that’s not true, there are some cute, character-developing details that you might miss, but it certainly won’t ruin the movie for you. You just won’t now why everyone else is sighing happily, or laughing, or whatever.

Big Screen vs. Small Screen: Either.

Why I liked it: I like this movie for all the reasons mention in the “Occasion” section above. Sometimes, all I want in my entertainment is something happy, funny, heart-warming, and fun, that doesn’t take much thought. This movie fits that bill perfectly. Beyond that, it’s actually a well-constructed film, and it’s got some good actors in it. I love Reese Witherspoon, of course, she’s a very talented actress (as evidenced by her work in Walk the Line, among other movies), and I’ve always been fond of Patrick Dempsey. And you can’t beat both of the leading men in the movie for eye-candy, especially Josh Lucas. Yum. I’d like my own thoughtful, artistic, lanky hunk of a man with a slow southern drawl, if you don’t mind.

“Own it” vs. “Once is enough”: I own it, but it’s one of those movies I come back to when I want something on in the background that I’ve seen a million times while I’m doing other things around the house.

If you liked…: Legally Blonde, The Nanny Diaries

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    December 22, 2009 1:16 am

    Sold. That does sound like what I’m in the mood to watch. I’ll let you know what I think!

  2. Kelly permalink
    December 23, 2009 12:35 am

    Ahhh, I’m watching it right now. We’ve got 10 minutes left. Wedding scene starting. Both of the men are awesome. I CAN’T DECIDE. (Also, I want that dress and that veil).

    Oh snap, dude in a hat. OH SNAP. I’d be pissed. But that’s a weird response (oh that’s what that feels like). Huh.

    PUPPY.

    HANDCUFFS.

    SHY SMILES.

    KITTY.

    hahhahahah. I’m going to watch this again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

