Skip to content

Recommendation: French Kiss

January 21, 2010

I was talking with my sister-in-law the other day (she’s about seven years younger than I am) and I made a reference to French Kiss. I think the line was, “My ass is twitching, you people make my ass twitch,” and yes, it was germane to conversation. Did she laugh? Did she glare at me for quoting yet another movie line?

No.

She stared at me blankly and said, “What?”

I know that she is a child of the new millennium, but I thought everyone had seen French Kiss. I mean, come on! Kevin Kline, Meg Ryan, romantic comedy, how could you go wrong? My husband, who thinks I’m a dork but loves me anyway, informed me that this movie is not as well-watched as I seem to think it is. Which is a crying shame, if you ask me.

So I’m recommending it. For immediate consumption, if possible. It’s amazing, and delicious. Well, probably not delicious. But the popcorn you enjoy with it certainly will be.

Title: French Kiss

Summary: Meg Ryan’s finace… okay, obviously the character’s name isn’t Meg Ryan. Kate is her character. Kate is a slightly neurotic, lactose intolerant history teacher with a fear of flying. For many reasons (all of which you will learn if you watch the film), Kate decides not go with her fiance on his business trip to France. But when he calls her to tell her that he’s fallen in love with another woman (“…a French godDESS, that’s French for goddess, Kate”), she gets on a plane and gets ready to go over there and win him back. Which, of course, is where she meets Luc Teyssier (played by the ever charming Kevin Klein), who typifies the American image of the Frenchman.

Genre: romantic comedy, comedy, nineties, sappy but awesome

Audience: I sincerely believe that this is one of the great romantic comedies, like When Harry Met Sally, or Sleepless in Seattle, or Love Actually, that all people of both genders will enjoy. Assuming they enjoy romantic comedies even a little bit. But, if you want the safe bet, I would say your best group of girlfriends, or your mom and sisters. Can’t go wrong there.

Occasion: Great party movie, especially if people have seen it before, because it can play in the background. Great movie for a girls night in, or if you just want something to relax to on the couch after a long day with a glass (or bottle, who’s to judge?) of wine.

Watch every minute? Not necessary. If you get up to pee, I’d pause it, but it’s not so complicated you’ll lose the storyline if you don’t.

Big Screen vs. Small Screen: Small’s fine.

Why I liked it: First and foremost, Meg Ryan and Kevin Klein are two of my favorite actors, so I almost had to like this movie. Secondly, I think the story is great, and I love Kate’s character arch, and how she and Luc surprise each other through out the film by being completely not who the other thought they were, and being totally perfect after all.

“Own it” vs. “Once is enough”: Own it. If you see it once, and like it even a little, own it, because you’ll want to watch it again.

If you liked… : Sleepless in Seattle, The Holiday, When Harry Met Sally, Ever After, You’ve Got Mail, Love Actually, pretty much everything Meg Ryan’s done is good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

