Skip to content

Recommendation: Up

February 25, 2010

It’s hard for me to believe that I haven’t recommended this movie here yet, because I’ve been talking it up all over the place in the “real world.”

If you’ve been following this blog at all, you’ll know that I love Pixar’s movies. Ever since they first came out with Toy Story, I’ve been enamored of the work that they’ve done, and it’s wonderful to have high quality animated movies out there, so that when I admit that I really enjoy animated movies, people don’t look at me like I’m crazy. (Okay, they still do, but not because I like animated movies.)

Basically, I think Pixar can do no wrong, and thus far, they’ve proved me right. Every new release they put out there is just as good, if not better, than their last movie.


Title: Up

Summary: A little boy who loves the idea of adventuring, falls in love with a little girl who feels the same way. They have a dream of going on an adventure together and along the way, life happens. They get married, and grow old together. And then the unthinkable happens, and he’s left alone. The world is changing around him and so he decides to have one last hurrah, and fulfill a promise that he made to his wife, even if she can only go with him in spirit.

Genre: animation, comedy, action, sincere and heart-warming, uplifting

Audience: Anyone. Seriously. Unless, like one my friends, you can’t handle sad things in movies, then you should be warned that I cried about fifteen minutes in, and it was very sad. But that’s totally not a good reason not to see this movie, because after that it gets AMAZING, and incredibly uplifting. Promise. The movie’s called “Up” for heaven’s sake.

Occasion: Need an emotional boost, Want to laugh, Wand to laugh, Hanging out with friends, Spending time with kids

Watch every minute? Probably, if you’re only going to watch it once. But I don’t know anyone who’s been able to resist watching it again.

Big Screen vs. Small Screen: Whatever you’ve got.

Why I liked it: Because it’s a Pixar movie, and Pixar is brilliant. Oh, right, that’s not a good enough reason for you to want to see it, that’s just a good enough reason for me to want to see it.

I like this movie because it’s happy and sad and funny and goofy and just fun. I like this movie because you get to watch characters interact with each other and learn from each other and grow into more exciting versions of themselves. I like this movie because it’s cute and anyone can enjoy it because of all the many layers that Pixar always puts in it’s movies. I don’t care if you’re two or twenty-two, eight, eighteen, or eighty, you will find something to enjoy in this movie.

“Own it” vs. “Once is enough”: I am going to own all of Pixar’s movies, just because they’re all amazing, and I want to share them with everyone. I highly recommend owning this one, too, but you’ll have to decide once you’ve seen it. I can bet you’ll want to see it again, in any case.

If you liked… You’ll also enjoy…: Toy Story, Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, (pretty much anything Pixar, really), Enchanted, The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

